A Confusion of Princes

So, to eat my words about trilogies. I finished A Confusion of Princes (a standalone YA novel) by Garth Nix today.

It. Was. Awesome.

It’s not supposed to be out until about the 17th, I think, but of course Waterstones had to have it there early. Along with City of Lost Souls (not out for another week) and Insurgent. So I was good and only bought one. Princes.

It is possibly one of my new favourite books of all time. I was expecting something great, because I love the Abhorsen books so much. So thanks to Garth Nix for keeping up the good work. I loved the story, the characters, the world, the writing, everything. It’s so… fresh. At the moment I think we’re slowly drowning in Dystopian books… that are all starting to look the same (might blog about that another time, as it’s driving me insane). But this was a proper book – original, and not obsessed with every minute movement of the love interest. It makes all these other books I’d been planning to read look, well, amateurish. I don’t want to read anything else. I want to read Princes again. 😦

Anyway, the moral of the story here is – buy A Confusion of Princes.

A Confusion of Princes

P.S. The cover is awesome too.

Leave a Reply

