Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

I read really good reviews for this one, so was rather excited to read it. Unfortunately, it was not what I was expecting. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy it and plan to read it again soon, but there were countless flaws. Though the protagonist is said to be the greatest assassin in her land, there is little to no evidence of this aside from her thoughts and a few comments from others. Similarly there was little action – what action there was, was exciting – but the book focused more on Celaena’s romantic interactions with Chaol and Prince Dorian. I would have liked to have seen more of the outside world, though I’m hoping this will be addressed in the sequel, Crown of Midnight.

I had no problem with Celaena as others have, as I went into it thinking of her like a female Han Solo – bragging and self-confident. I liked the setting in the glass palace, and felt myself missing it after I finished.

In all, I think it could have done with another good edit, but I did enjoy it. I read that Sarah J. Maas has been writing it for ten years, so I can forgive some of the flaws as numerous drafts can get things a little messy. I’m looking forward to the sequel out this year.

2 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

  1. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday (6) | aalisun

  2. Pingback: Crown of Midnight | aalisun

Leave a Reply

