The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection (The Selection, #1)

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I loved the cover, and wanted to read it, but after seeing all the negative reviews for it, I hesitated. Thankfully my local library had it, and I gave it a try. I really enjoyed it, and stayed up until 1am to finish it. Yes, the premise might be a little creepy – thirty-five girls competing to marry the Prince – but once you get over that (and realise it’s a little like an arranged marriage, but the guy gets some say in the matter), it’s really enjoyable.

To me, it was more like a fairy tale, reminding me a little of the second Princess Diaries film. It’s a love triangle, love story, but because it knows that’s what it is, it doesn’t pretend to be something else and disappoint you. There were surprises and action, and I really liked the protagonist, America, who stood up for herself. One might think with so many girls living together in the palace, it would turn nasty, but I think they were more realistic in that they weren’t. Of course there was one mean girl, but that was fine.

So now I’m really looking forward to the sequel, The Elite, and that pretty cover.

Leave a Reply

