Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)
This is really hard to review. I loved Cinder, and thought I loved Scarlet once I finished it. But now I’ve had time to think, I’m finding flaws.

I’ll start with what I liked. The characters. New ones were added, including Wolf and, my personal favourite, Captain Thorne, as well as keeping in old familiars from Cinder. They were all well written, each with their own personalities, making it more of an ensemble book (contrary to the titles). There was tons of action, which kept the pace up, and me whipping through the pages, making it feel more like a TV show than a book. Not that that’s a bad thing.

But I can’t help noticing all the similiarities between Scarlet, and Star Wars and Firefly. This could have been a coincidence, except I’ve read on Meyer’s blog she’s a huge fan of both. Sometimes Scarlet seemed a little like fanfic, especially with Captain Thorne (who had some of the best lines) almost indistinguisable from Han Solo and Captain Mal at times.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the plot either, and realised that by the end, not much had changed from the beginning, except most of the characters had banded together.

Despite all this, it was written well enough for me to really enjoy it. I can’t wait for the next book, Cress.

2 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

