Draft 12 – will this ever be finished?

I’ve put my agent searching on hold.

About a month ago, I got a request for a full, which was ultimately past on. Instead of making me all sad, it made me frustrated with myself. My story still had flaws that I need to work out. (Chiefly my weakling of a protagonist – I had been spending all my time figuring out the other characters, and making sure of the story, I forgot about her). The request gave me hope and motivation though, and so (once again) I am rewriting the first half.

I am on chapter 21 now, of about 50, and I’m starting to worry – am I making this even worse? Am I cutting all the good parts? I know I’ve made it stronger by adding scenes from the guy’s perspective. And that’s helped in the girl’s POV too, as I know how he will react. I’ve been cutting parts I did not like to begin with, and I think it’s better because of it. That said, I will probably read it back through, and discover I’ve ruined the story/characters or something.

Anyway, I have until 10th April to finish this edit, then it’s a read-through, before passing it to my sister. She hasn’t read it since about draft 2 (it’s draft 12 now), so I’m kind of worried. Hopefully, it will be agent-presentable by the end of the month.

In other news, it was my birthday at the weekend, and I got nothing. I wanted nothing, which is rather sad. I spent hours on amazon and goodreads, trying to find a new book, but nothing stood out. I have a Waterstones giftcard, and spent half an hour in there amongst the awesomeness of YA books, but… nothing. All the books I want come out later in the year.

I’ve since ordered Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore (in paperback), and just got an email saying it’s been dispatched. Yay! In the meantime, I’m rereading Prodigy by Marie Lu, because it’s awesome.

Anyone got any cool books recently? Having trouble with your WIP? Querying? I’d love to hear.

Leave a Reply

