These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)

These Broken Stars

Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

I think, like everyone else, I was drawn to this book because of the pretty cover. Sadly, with a digital early copy, you don’t get the cover.

I read this in one afternoon/evening. I couldn’t put it down. The basic premise is that Lilac, a rich girl, and Tarver, a soldier, are on a spaceship that crashes onto a seemingly deserted planet and they have to survive together, even though they dislike each other. The story is told via both points of views, and they are virtually the only characters in the whole book. This could have caused problems – boredom, not enough character development etc – but it really didn’t. I really liked both Lilac and Tarver, and their banter and chemistry. It didn’t seem forced, and you got to see it from both their perspectives. And I must admit, I quite like Tarver. I rarely, if ever, like like a guy character in books (aside from Will Herondale in Clockwork Angel – though not in the sequels), so that alone made this book stand out.

It was more of character driven story than a plot one – not that there wasn’t a plot. I read Meagan Spooner’s Skylark recently, and there were a lot of similarities though it didn’t bother me. There was a twist I did not see coming, and I’m a little conflicted over my feelings toward it. Warning: it gets a little creepy. In a LOST TV show sort of way. I wasn’t expecting it, so maybe that was one of the reasons I read it so fast…?

I really enjoyed These Broken Stars and am looking forward to the sequel.

Thanks to Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

